November Updates/Harry Potter Dreaming

So, this past Saturday, I went to Oxford with the International Society. I was soooo excited because I had spent my time procrastinating doing work over the past couple of weeks researching the Harry Potter filming locations. Oxford was a hub, so obviously it was a must see.

(Oh yeah, this past Friday, Manchester had it’s “Christmas Lights Switch-On” and The Wanted was there! (They sing “Glad You Came.”) There were sooo many people though my friends and I couldn’t get through, it was like Rockefeller for Christ’s sake. (Where’s Ethan’s NYPD badge when you need him…) But eventually we walked past the lights and this is what it looks like:

This is going to stay up for a while, and they’re starting to build Christmas markets! It’s funny here right after Halloween/5th of November (Guy Fawkes or Bonfire Night) they are fully in Christmas mode. It makes sense–they don’t have Thanksgiving, but I feel like I’m cheating on it/America if I fully get into the Christmas spirit now (and maybe my Jewish heritage as well? Nah..)

Also, being in Manchester for Bonfire Night was so odd. November 4th I was studying and noticed more fireworks were going off than normal. They’re legal here, so it’s not completely odd for fireworks to be lit randomly. But my ignorant self passed it off as Diwali. Then for the lacrosse social that week the girls needed someone to sell our t-shirts as a fundraiser to the hockey team at 8pm the next night. I had nothing scheduled so I volunteered, and I couldn’t understand why no one else did. Soon enough I found out the next night was November 5th, and there was a carnival/bonfire/fireworks going on at the field nearby. Obviously everyone would know this and have plans to be there except for the dumb American who has never celebrated it. They make a bon fire to celebrate the fact that the Guy Fawkes’ rebellion against Parliament was foiled. He was burned at the stake. Every year they burn scarecrows and such in celebration. I know everyone’s happy about this, but it’s creepily reminiscent of “The Hunger Games.” –Don’t cross us, or you’ll wind up like this guy, so we’re going to remind you of our power every year. Well I missed the fireworks, but I smelled the bonfire and saw fireworks going off in every other direction around. And the fireworks continued for the third night..they were really partying like the fourth of July, accept from the other side.

That was a huge tangent, but so this past Saturday I went to Oxford. The first stop on the list was the Bodleian Library, as it was the scene for some Harry Potter scenes. I paid 6.50 pounds for a tour, whatever #YOGAO. An old man led the tour with the poshest accent I’ve ever heard. I thought about how my friends describe Oxford being pretentious like how we’d say Harvard or Princeton was. Judging by his accent, they were right. But he was really sweet, just went off on a ton of tangents. This is the first room we saw, called the Divinity School:

In case you don’t realize, this is where Harry Potter and da crew learn from Professor McGonagall how to dance for the Yule Ball in the fourth movie. Don’t believe me–WATCH IT I DARE YOU– Yeah I was there. It was also the Hospital Wing in the first one. The ceiling is crazy detailed with actual meanings of past bishops, and even the architect himself wrote his initials (a little narcissistic in my opinion, but he made it blend.)

We then FINALLY went upstairs to the real part I wanted to go to–Duke Humphrey’s Library, which is where some of the actual scenes for Hogwarts’ library were filmed. You’re not allowed to take pictures in there due to copyright laws. They had crazy security we had to lock our bags before walking up. The tour guide was really nice though. 😉 The library is 800 years old–it was going on before they starting using the printing press and were using manuscripts! With the problems during the Reformation it was closed, but then Bodleian reopened it and added a cool medieval flare..and that’s what I got out of the tour. Plus we saw a LOTTTT of old books. It was soooo cool. William and Mary seemed like a baby in comparison.

Next up: Christ Church for the stairs used in filming, the Great Hall, courtyard.

The stairs were used in various scenes, like when McGonagall welcomes Harry and Ron to Hogwarts after they crash the car (second one) or when Harry is going through Tom Riddle’s memory (third) but who’s counting..This is one of the scenes:

And now my versions:

And larger shot:

Crazy to be there. On the bottom floor on a really old door, there’s “No Peel” engraved in it, which was apparently against the secretary Robert Peel in 1829 who wanted more freedom for Catholics. I should have taken a picture..When you’re a student and writing on the table, it’s weird to think that your words will still be there almost 200 years later just as clearly as when you inscribed them.

The doors at the top lead to the Great Hall, which was of course the inspiration for Hogwarts’ Great Hall. I don’t think they actually filmed there but they def copied it. Have a looksie:

Soooo cool. They just needed the ceiling to mirror the outside, and it would be an exact match. Speaking of the outside, it was such a pretty day the sky was incredible. This is what it looked like from the courtyard:

Crazy beautiful day. This just looks like Hogwarts, just like a picture of a hallway:

Literally I was there. And my life goal can now be checked off on the list.

From here, we didn’t have much time but we wandered around Christ Church a little bit longer and I really enjoyed looking at the fields as the sun was setting..As shown:

Also I snagged a picture of Alice’s Shop on the way out:

Lewis Carroll, Oxford Professor, lived right next to here. His stories were about the daughter of the Dean of the Christ Church College, Alice. This was where her candy store was apparently, and he wrote this store into some of his stories. Alice goes into the shop in “Through the Looking Glass.” This may or may not all be true…

Anyway, Oxford was sooo awesome and I want to apply there for grad school/wish it was a feasible dream to go there. It was such a cute down–not a club in sight! Only tiny little pubs..Like a British Williamsburg..aka the best of both worlds, literally and figuratively.